

2021 CALL FOR AWARD NOMINATIONS

The OFPA is pleased to open the call for the 2021 award nominations to recognize the outstanding achievements and contributions of professionals to the food safety in Ontario and beyond. It is with great enthusiasm that the OFPA continues with its mission of improving the professional status of those involved with food safety.

NOMINATION DEADLINE: October 31, 2021 CONTACT: Laurie Sawyer, Committee Chair EMAIL: <u>lsawyer@goodleaffarms.com</u>

ELEGIBILITY

The nominated candidate must be an OFPA member in good standing. Membership is not required for a nominator. There is no limit to the number of nominations a nominator can put forward. All nominations must be signed before the nomination form is submitted. Completed nominations forms must be received by email no later than the nomination deadline (nomination form is at the end of this document). Previous award recipients are not eligible.

CATEGORIES

AWARD OF SANITARIAN AND FOOD SAFETY PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR

The Sanitarian and Food Safety Professional of the Year Award may be presented to a member (Professional, Honorary, Retired or Sustaining Corporate) deemed to have contributed outstanding service to the Food Industry in Ontario; e.g. demonstrated expertise on sanitation procedures, improved food safety culture at a company, conducted research that made an applied contribution to food safety, provided excellent educational or training activities to food companies. The award consists of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) registration fee, a certificate and \$250 honorarium.

AWARD OF MERIT

The Award of Merit may be presented to a Professional, Honorary, Retired or Sustaining Corporate member of the Association deemed to have contributed outstanding service to the OFPA; e.g. provided high quality articles for the newsletter, supported administrative activities, increased visibility of the OFPA. The award consists of the AGM registration fee, a certificate and \$250 honorarium.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT HONORARY AWARD

May be presented to a Professional or Retired member of the Association and recognizes individuals who have made substantial contributions to the objectives of the OFPA through more than 10 years of active service in the Association. The Lifetime Achievement Award grants the winner honorary lifetime membership in the Ontario Food Protection Association, the AGM registration fee, a certificate and \$250 honorarium.

NOMINATION PROCESS & SELECTION CRITERIA

Nominations may be made by completing the nomination form at the end of this document. Forms must be received by the Committee Chair by the nomination deadline. The eligibility of the award candidates shall be confirmed by Awards Committee from the list of nominations submitted. The winners will be selected by the association members on the basis of the outstanding contributions and their suitability for each category. Members will vote online through a link provided by email. Results will be presented to the board in October. An award shall not be made in the event that submitted nominations do not meet eligibility nor suitability for the category. For any questions or concerns about the nomination process, please email the Committee Chair.

ANNOUCEMENT

The Committee Chair will notify winners in early November, 2021. The Chair shall present the awards live at the AGM or at a virtual meeting in November, 2021. Given the uncertainty around COVID-19, the OFPA is evaluating how best to safely present the awards and will provide an update as government regulations and recommendations evolve. Profiles of award recipients will be posted at <u>www.ofpa.on.ca</u>

President	Sanitarian & Food Safety	Award of Merit	Honarary Lifetime Membership
Joseph Myatt	D. Gaurave Tewari		
Angela Bernoski	Chris Chanas		
Ananth Kasic	Jessica Burke	Joseph Myatt	
Katherine Di Tommaso	Karen Schroder		
Moustapha Oke			
Peter Stein/Lynne Fruhner	Trophy Foods Inc.	Sani Marc. Company	Mike Brodsky
Keith Warriner	Nel Pereira	Richard Meldrum	Jeff Farber
Jeff Hall	Steve Pereira	Jeff Hall	
Marc Charlton	Arry Taves	Victoria Rose	
Paul Baxter	Joe Pereirra	Joseph Odumeru	Marilyn Lee
Judy Greig	Ian Culley	Joanne Boudreault	
Mike Cassidy	Sherif Morcos		
Joseph Odumeru		Debra Bradshaw	
	Joseph Myatt Angela Bernoski Ananth Kasic Katherine Di Tommaso Moustapha Oke Peter Stein/Lynne Fruhner Steith Warriner Jeff Hall Marc Charlton Paul Baxter Judy Greig Mike Cassidy	SafetyJoseph MyattD. Gaurave TewariAngela BernoskiChris ChanasAnanth KasicJessica BurkeKatherine Di TommasoKaren SchroderMoustapha OkeTrophy Foods Inc.Peter Stein/Lynne FruhnerNel PereiraJeff HallSteve PereiraMarc CharltonArry TavesPaul BaxterJoe PereirraJudy GreigIan CulleyMike CassidySherif Morcos	SafetyJoseph MyattD. Gaurave TewariAngela BernoskiChris ChanasAnanth KasicJessica BurkeKatherine Di TommasoKaren SchroderMoustapha Oke-Peter Stein/Lynne FruhnerTrophy Foods Inc.Keith WarrinerNel PereiraIder CharltonSteve PereiraMarc CharltonArry TavesPaul BaxterJoe PereirraJudy GreigIan CulleyMike CassidySherif Morcos

PAST RECIPIENTS OF AWARDS

NOMINATION FORM



Select the Award

Г

□ Sanitarian and Food Safety Professional of the Year

- Merit
- \Box Lifetime Achievement Honorary

Reason for Nomination (Explain why your nominee deserves the selected award)

Nom	inee
	Full Name
	First nameLast name
	Organization or affiliation
	Email
	Telephone
	Membership Status Professional Retired Honorary Sustainable Corporate
Nom	inator
	Full Name
	First name Last name
	Email
	Telephone
	Relationship to Nominee
	Signature
	Date (DD/MM/YYYY)

This form must be signed and returned to the Committee Chair at <u>lsawyer@goodleaffarms.com</u> by October 31, 2021