

#### 2024 CALL FOR AWARD NOMINATIONS

The OFPA is pleased to open the call for the 2024 award nominations to recognize the outstanding achievements and contributions of professionals to the food safety in Ontario and beyond. It is with great enthusiasm that the OFPA continues with its mission of improving the professional status of those involved with food safety.

**NOMINATION DEADLINE:** August 16, 2024 **CONTACT:** Birendra N Rajapreyar, Committee Chair

**EMAIL:** <u>birendra.rajapreyar@veeva.com</u>

## **ELEGIBILITY**

The nominated candidate must be an OFPA member in good standing. Membership is not required for a nominator. There is no limit to the number of nominations a nominator can put forward. All nominations must be signed before the nomination form is submitted. Completed nominations forms must be received by email no later than the nomination deadline (nomination form is at the end of this document). Previous award recipients are not eligible. Self-nominations are not permitted.

#### **CATEGORIES**

#### FOOD SAFETY PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR AWARD

The Food Safety Professional of the Year Award (formerly known as Award of Sanitarian and Food Safety Professional of the Year) may be presented to a member (Professional, Honorary, Retired or Sustaining Corporate) deemed to have contributed outstanding service to the Food Industry in Ontario; e.g. demonstrated expertise on sanitation procedures, improved food safety culture at a company, conducted research that made an applied contribution to food safety, provided excellent educational or training activities to food companies. The award consists of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) registration fee, a certificate and \$250 honorarium.

#### AWARD OF MERIT

The Award of Merit may be presented to a Professional, Honorary, Retired or Sustaining Corporate member of the Association deemed to have contributed outstanding service to the OFPA; e.g. provided high quality articles for the newsletter, supported administrative activities, increased visibility of the OFPA. The award consists of the AGM registration fee, a certificate and \$250 honorarium.

## LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT HONORARY AWARD

May be presented to a Professional or Retired member of the Association and recognizes individuals who have made substantial contributions to the objectives of the OFPA through more than 10 years of active service in the Association. The Lifetime Achievement Award grants the winner honorary lifetime membership in the Ontario Food Protection Association, the AGM registration fee, a certificate and \$250 honorarium.

## NOMINATION PROCESS & SELECTION CRITERIA

Nominations may be made by completing the nomination form at the end of this document. Forms must be received by the Committee Chair by the nomination deadline. The eligibility of the award candidates shall be confirmed by Awards Committee from the list of nominations submitted. The winners will be selected by the association members based on the outstanding contributions and their suitability for each category. Members will vote online through a link provided by email. Results will be presented to the board in October. An award shall not be made if submitted nominations do not meet eligibility or suitability for the category. Self-nominations are not permitted. For any questions or concerns about the nomination process, please email the Committee Chair.

## **ANNOUCEMENT**

The Committee Chair will notify winners on September 16, 2024. The Chair shall present the awards live at the AGM on October 1, 2024. Profiles of award recipients will be posted at <a href="www.ofpa.on.ca">www.ofpa.on.ca</a>

## PAST RECIPIENTS OF AWARDS

Year	President	Sanitarian & Food Safety	Award of Merit	Honarary Lifetime Membership
2023	Nadia Narine	Mike Byerley	Nadia Narine	Gordon Hayburn
2021	Nadia Narine	Gordon Hayburn		Shirley May Chalouh
2020	Joseph Myatt	D. Gaurave Tewari		
2019	Angela Bernoski	Chris Chanas		
2018	Ananth Kasic	Jessica Burke	Joseph Myatt	
2017	Katherine Di Tommaso	Karen Schroder		
2016	Moustapha Oke			
2015	Peter Stein/Lynne Fruhner	Trophy Foods Inc.	Sani Marc. Company	Mike Brodsky
2014	Keith Warriner	Nel Pereira	Richard Meldrum	Jeff Farber
2013	Jeff Hall	Steve Pereira	Jeff Hall	
2012	Marc Charlton	Arry Taves	Victoria Rose	
2011	Paul Baxter	Joe Pereirra	Joseph Odumeru	Marilyn Lee
2010	Judy Greig	Ian Culley	Joanne Boudreault	
2009	Mike Cassidy	Sherif Morcos		
2008	Joseph Odumeru		Debra Bradshaw	

# **NOMINATION FORM**



Th.					
Reason	for Nomination (Explain why your nominee deserves the selected award)				
•					
<b>inee</b> Full Na					
Tun INa	First name  Last name				
	Thst name				
Organi	zation or affiliation				
Em ell					
Email					
Teleph	one				
Membe	ership Status Professional Retired Honorary Sustainable Corporate				
inator					
Full Na	ime				
	First name Last name				
Email					
Teleph	one				
relepii					
Теюри					
	onship to Nominee				

This form must be signed and returned to the Committee Chair at <a href="mailto:birendra.rajapreyar@veeva.com">birendra.rajapreyar@veeva.com</a> by August 16, 2024